Cardio Completion Ceremony Held

Cardio graduating class 2019




SCHRIEVER, LA — Fletcher Technical Community College celebrated its summer 2019 Completion Ceremony for Associate of Science in Cardiopulmonary Care Science on July 25, 2019, at Fletcher’s main campus. Dr. Kristine Strickland, Chancellor, presided over the ceremony, and the guest speaker was David Hebert, AS, RRT, RRT-NPS, ECMO Coordinator.

This year’s graduates are: Laura Andrews, Whitney Blanchard, Alanie Cheramie, Jason Connor-Flores, Bekah Crosby, Logan Deroche, Jeanne Dingler, Katelyn Holloway, Hannah Landry, Margo Olivier, Abbegayle Phares, Layne Reynaud, and Lauren Terrebonne.

The following students received a $500 Clauer Scholarship: Laura Andrews, Whitney Blanchard*, Jason Connor-Flores*, Katelynn Holloway*, Abbegayle Phares*, and Layne Reynaud. The George and Alice Clauer Scholarship was established by the Clauer family in honor of Dr. George Clauer.

All 13 students have secured employment. Working at Terrebonne General Medical Center (Houma) are Laura Andrews, Katelyn Holloway, Abbegayle Phares, Lauren Terrebonne. Whitney Blanchard, Alaine Cheramie, Jeanne Dingler, Hannah Landry, and Layne Reynaud received jobs at Children’s Hospital (New Orleans). Bekah Crosby and Margo Olivier are working at Ochsner Medical Center – Kenner. Logan Deroche is working at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center (Baton Rouge), and Jason Connor-Flores accepted employment at Touro Infirmary (LCMC Health, New Orleans).

“Fletcher Technical Community College congratulates the Cardiopulmonary program on the 100% job placement rate for this year’s class,” commented Dr. Strickland. “Once again, Fletcher faculty and students are leading the way across all professions in demonstrating that these students are work-ready. The contributions our students will make in our community is tremendous and we wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.”

Fletcher Technical Community College’s Cardiopulmonary Care Science Program is nationally accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC).


The National Honor Society for the Profession of Respiratory Care was formed in 1986 to promote, recognize and honor scholarship, scholarly achievement, service and character of students, graduates, and faculty members of the profession. The name of the society is based on the goals of the Respiratory Care profession: sustaining “life and breath” for all mankind. Lambda Beta Society currently has over 100 chapters established at Respiratory Care programs across the United States. The purpose of the Society is to promote achievement of high scholarly standards within the schools and chapters through encouragement of membership and graduation with honors.

About the program:

Cardiopulmonary Care Science prepares individuals to treat patients ranging from premature infants to the elderly with acute and chronic cardiopulmonary illnesses.  Graduates of the program work with patients on mechanical ventilation to maintain life support such as oxygenation, ventilation and airway management. They treat patients with pulmonary disease who have under-developed lungs and patients with chronic lung disease.  These individuals play a vital role in many areas of health care.

Photo caption: Fletcher’s 2019 Cardiopulmonary students held their closing ceremony on July 25. Members of the class are (front, left to right) Abbegayle Phares; Margo Olivier; Hannah Landry; Bekah Crosby; Logan Deroche; Whitney Blanchard; Jason Connor-Flores. Back row (left to right), Errol Champagne, M.Ed., RRT- NPS, Program Director; Katelynn Holloway; Jeanne Dingler; Layne Reynaud; Laura Andrews; Alanie Cheramie; Lauren Terrebonne; Alisha Aucoin, BS, RRT, Clinical Director/Instructor.